Department of Statistics

Department of Statistics

Welcome to the Department of Statistics


Announcements

HDReAM Center Launch Keynote Talk
Overthrowing the Tyranny of Null Hypotheses in Health and Medical Sciences
Sander Greenland, M.A., M.S., Dr.P.H., C.Stat
Department of Epidemiology and Department of Statistics
University of California, Los Angeles
April 18 (Fri) 10 am-11:30 pm, Fetzer Center

Reception for Prof. Gerald Sievers
Please come and join the reception to recognize Prof. Sievers for his 46 years of service to the University.
April 18 (Friday) 4 to 6 pm, at the Oaklands.

Job Ratings 2014
CareerCast.com ranked 200 jobs from best to worst. Statistician came in 3rd best, citing good work environment, low stress, and good jobs outlook.

Job Opportunities
We have posted solicitation emails for job applications in the job announcements page.

Tutor Lab (3363 Rood Hall)
Free tutoring is available for Stat 1600, 2160, 2600, 2830, 3640 and 3660.
        Monday and Tuesday: 10-6
        Wednesday and Thursday: 10-3

Calendars

Spring 2014
Jan 2-3 Advising Days
Jan 6, Mon Classes Begin
Jan 10, Fri Last day to drop/add classes
Jan 20, Mon MLK Day
Feb 1 Last day to apply for June graduation
Feb 28, Fri Spirit Day
Mar 3, Mon Spring break begins
Mar 10, Mon Classes resume
Mar 17, Mon Last day to withdraw from Spring courses
Apr 21-25 Final Exam Week
Apr 26, Sat Semester Ends/Commencement
Summer I 2014
May 5, Mon Classes begin
May 8, Thur Methods DGE, 2-5 pm
May 9, Fri Theory DGE, 2-5 pm
May 26, Mon Memorial Day Recess
June 2, Mon Last day to withdraw from Summer I classes
June 25, Wed Session ends
June 28, Sat Commencement
 

Department of Statistics
3304 Everett Tower
Western Michigan University
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5152 USA
(269) 387-1420 | (269) 387-1419 Fax
stat-webmaster@wmich.edu