Department of Statistics

Department of Statistics

Welcome to the Department of Statistics


Announcements

Statistics tutor lab
Free tutoring is available for Stat 1600, 2160, 2600, 2830, 3640 and 3660.
Monday-Thursday, 10 a.m-7 p.m. at 3363 Rood Hall.

Job outlook
"Employment of statisticians is projected to grow 34 percent from 2014 to 2024," according to the Bureau of Labor Occupational Outlook Handbook.

Statistician and Data Scientist made the Top 10 Best Jobs in CareerCast.com's annual list. Major factors considered were good work environment, low stress, and good jobs outlook.

ThisisStatistics.org
  With a career in statistics - the science of learning from data - you can make a difference, have fun, and make money.
Read more...


Calendars

Spring 2016
Jan 7-8 Advising
Jan 11, Mon Classes Begin
Jan 15, Fri Last day to drop/add
Jan 18, Mon MLK Day
Mar 4, Fri Spirit Day
Mar 7-11 Spring break
Mar 14, Mon Last day to withdraw from classes
Apr 25-29 Final Exam Week
Apr 30, Sat Semester Ends/Commencement

Summer I 2016
May 9, Mon Classes begin
May 12, Thur Methods DGE, 2-5 pm
May 13, Fri Theory DGE, 2-5 pm
May 27, Fri PhD prelim, 9-3 pm
May 30, Mon Memorial Day Recess
June 6, Mon Last day to withdraw from classes
June 29, Wed Session ends
June 25, Sat Commencement

 

Department of Statistics
3304 Everett Tower
Western Michigan University
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5152 USA
(269) 387-1420 | (269) 387-1419 Fax
stat-webmaster@wmich.edu