Department of Statistics

Department of Statistics

Welcome to the Department of Statistics


Announcements

Alumni Awardee Colloquium
Oct. 24 (Fri) 11 am, 6625 Everett Tower
I Love Being a Statistician
Boyd Hanson
Executive Director of Biometrics at BioMarin
Novato, California

Colloquium
Oct. 31 (Fri) 11 am, 6625 Everett Tower
Challenges and Opportunities in Providing a Statistical Support Model to a Large Research Organization (Musings from a Zoetis Biometrics Insider)
Clark D. Smothers, PhD
Zoetis (formally Pfizer Animal Health)
Veterinary Medicine Research and Development

2015 Conference Announcement
A conference on Robust Rank-Based and Nonparametric Methods will be held at Western Michigan University on April 9 and 10, 2015.

Tutor Lab (3363 Rood Hall)
Free tutoring is available for Stat 1600, 2160, 2600, 2830, 3640 and 3660.
        Mon and Tue: 10-6
        Wed and Thur: 10-5

Job Ratings 2014
CareerCast.com ranked 200 jobs from best to worst. Statistician came in 3rd best, citing good work environment, low stress, and good jobs outlook.

Job Opportunities
We have posted solicitation emails for job applications in the job announcements page.

Calendars

Fall 2014
August 28-29 Advising
Sept 1, Mon Labor Day Recess
Sept 2, Tue Classes Begin
Nov 3, Mon Last day to withdraw from Fall courses
Nov 26, Wed Thanksgiving Recess begins at noon
Dec 1, Mon Classes resume
Dec 8-12 Final Exam Week
Dec 13, Sat Semester Ends/Commencement

Spring 2015
Jan 8-9, Fri Advising
Jan 12, Mon Classes Begin
Jan 16, Fri Last day to drop/add
Jan 19, Mon MLK Day
Mar 6, Fri Spirit Day
Mar 9, Mon Spring break begins
Mar 16, Mon Classes resume
Mar 23, Mon Last day to withdraw from classes
Apr 27-May 1 Final Exam Week
May 2, Sat Semester Ends/Commencement
 

Department of Statistics
3304 Everett Tower
Western Michigan University
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5152 USA
(269) 387-1420 | (269) 387-1419 Fax
stat-webmaster@wmich.edu